December 27 2023

Board of Directors: Welcome and Farewell  

The Security Foundation (TSF) Board of Directors is well known across the security community for attracting the industry’s best and brightest leaders. On January 1, 2024, we welcome several new Directors and say farewell to two of our stalwart, longtime Board members.

With the new year, TSF also reaches an important milestone – 50% Board diversity. Two years ago during our 2022 Strategic Planning session, the Board set the 50% Board diversity benchmark as a goal to reach by 2025. We are proud to announce that we achieved this a full year earlier, an important part of TSF’s commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI). Read more about TSF’s DEI goals at

Farewell to Board Members: On January 1, 2024, we say farewell to TSF Board members who have guided TSF’s growth and new opportunities with expert counsel, a collaborative approach and a unwavering service to the entire security community.

Dan Schlehr

Dan Schlehr
Vice President and Chief Security Officer, L3Harris Technologies

Dan is a founding TSF Board member. He joined the then-International Security Foundation at its inception in 2011, serving as Board Secretary for four years. Dan’s wisdom, kindness and expertise from the private sector and as a former Special Agent at the U.S. Department of State’s Diplomatic Security Service were key to creating a board culture of partnership focused on advancing public-private partnerships.




Jerry Brennan

Jerry Brennan
Chief Executive, SMR Group, Security Management Resources

Jerry also rotates off the Board after nine years of impressive service. Jerry’s marketing savvy and vast knowledge of the industry, gleaned from SMR’s search and recruitment leadership, were invaluable in sharing the messaging of a then-new nonprofit. His fundraising enthusiasm and acumen also helped TSF reach new fundraising goals.

“On behalf of the TSF Board, I extend my deep thanks to Dan and Jerry for their remarkable service,” notes Peggy O’Neill, TSF Executive Director. “Dan has helped to shape TSF’s path from the beginning, deepening our shared commitment to our important work while being exceedingly good company along the journey. Jerry’s boundless devotion to sharing the TSF story and rallying others to join our mission – while ensuring communication best-practices to do so – has kept us on a steady course. Thank you both for your impactful service.” 

Welcome to our New Directors: We’re thrilled to welcome three new Board members, each a highly respected member of the security community.

Karen Frank

Karen Frank

  • Managing Director, Head of Firm Security Services, KMPG since June 2023; previously Senior Director, Head of Global Security Services with Pratt & Whitney, was in Enterprise Security and IT Services for Caterpillar and worked for the Tazewell County, Illinois State’s Attorney’s Office
  • B.S., Law Enforcement and Justice Administration, Illinois State University; M.B.A., Western Illinois University
  • Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) and Certified Protection Professional (CPP)
  • Overseas Security Advisory Council (OSAC) Council Member since November 2021 and Chair of the Constituent Advocacy Committee
  • ASIS Global Board member since January 2023; past Advisory Board Member, CSO Center for Leadership & Development
  • Former Critical Manufacturing Council Executive Committee, CISA, U.S. Department of State


Arlin Pedrick

Arlin Pedrick

  • Chief Security Officer, Accenture since May 2018; prior positions include Director, Global Intelligence and Threat Analysis with Disney, Director, Global Security, Walmart and 32 years with the U.S. Government in national security
  • B.S., Mathematics, B.A., Fine Arts, Stanford University; M.P.H. Infectious Disease Epidemiology, University of Pittsburgh
  • Domestic Security Alliance Council (DSAC) Executive Working Group Member
  • International Security Management Association (ISMA) Representative at 2023 Joint DEI Summit (ASIS, DSAC, ISMA, OSAC, TSF)



Joe Olivarez

Joe Olivarez

  • Vice President, Operational Center of Excellence and Chief Security Officer, Jacobs since November 2020, employed by Jacobs since 2013; formerly Vice President Security, Western Hemisphere, Baker Hughes; and Vice President of Investigations, International Consulting Firm
  • B.S., Criminal Justice, Stephen F. Austin State; M.B.A., C.T. Bauer College of Business, University of Houston; attended Yale School of Management’s Leading & Managing Globally program
  • Global Board of Directors member, ASIS International since January 2020; Past Chair, ASIS International Chief Security Officer Center
  • OSAC Council member since January 2020
  • Member, DEI Summit Group (ASIS, DSAC, ISMA, OSAC, TSF)


TSF’s New Board President, Dave Komendat: On January 1, 2024, Dave Komendat becomes President of The Security Foundation. He has been a TSF Board member since 2015, most recently serving as Vice President.

Dave Komendat

“Dave’s visionary thinking and balanced insight have played major roles in shaping TSF’s strategic focus,” Peggy says. “Dave’s many skills, gleaned over his 36-year career at The Boeing Company, and deep respect he has within security are harbingers for all TSF can and will achieve as the trusted convener of public-private partnerships.”

He was particularly instrumental in early 2023 when TSF merged with the former Domestic Security Partnership to add DSAC to TSF’s portfolio. Dave is past co-chairman of DSAC, president of the Hostage US Board, past president of ISMA and served as a member of the OSAC Council. In 2018, Dave was awarded the Director’s Award for Exceptional Public Service by FBI Director Christopher Wray.



Rich Davis

Rich Davis, who has served two terms as TSF President – a tenure marked by impressive fundraising and programmatic achievements – steps down as TSF President on December 31, 2023. He remains on TSF’s Board to share his valued voice and vision for TSF’s exciting new chapter. Rich’s leadership was lauded at the recent 12th Annual TSF Dinner Celebrating OSAC and as the 2023 recipient of the prestigious George P. Shultz Award for Excellence to OSAC.

Thank you to all TSF Board members for their service.